Written by on April 22, 2020

From this Saturday, no Federal Government Official will be
allowed to travel outside Nigeria.
The travel ban is part of new measures to stem the spread of the
dreaded coronavirus.
This is coming as the Federal Ministry of Health announced five
new cases of the virus, bringing to eight, the total number of
confirmed cases in the country.
Reports say all the five new cases had a travel history to the
The United Kingdom and the United States.
Four of the cases were Nigerians including a six-week-old baby
while the fifth was a foreign national who came in through the
land border, which is the first of its kind.
Inaugurating Presidential Taskforce on COVID-19 in Abuja,
Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Mr. Boss
Mustapha, who is the Chairman of the Committee, said
government officials have been banned from all forms of travel to
upscale the nation’s health management system and put in place,
measures to curb the spread of the disease.
He also announced that the Federal Government has placed
travel restrictions on entry into the country from thirteen
countries over the Coronavirus outbreak.
The countries are China, Iran, South Korea, Germany, Italy,
United States, United Kingdom, Switzerland, Norway,
Netherlands, Spain, France, and Japan.
The Secretary to the Government of the Federation said the
the restriction will come into effect from Saturday for four weeks,
subject to review.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Continue reading

Previous post


Current track